The setup ;-)

Image

Moderators: Admiral of the Fleet, Vice Admiral

eyzpick
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:56 pm
Location: Moretusburg, Antwerp, Belgium
Contact:
=EBS= eyzpick’s avatar
Loading…

The setup ;-)

Post by eyzpick » Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:03 am

Allright, so I've been looking around and came up with this thought:

MB: Gigabyte Aorus x570 Elite
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
RAM: G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 Ripjaws V (2x16)
HDD: Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
GPU: Gigabyte Aorus 5700 XT
PSU: Gigabyte Aorus P750W 80+ Gold Modular
Case: Fractal Design Define R6 White (no glass panel)

Keyboard or mice: undecided
Headset: Astro A40 TR (still have this one)
Monitor: Dell U2713HMt (still have this one, someday will upgrade with second display)

Suggestions or thoughts?

User avatar
0v3rz34l0u5
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:29 pm
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: The setup ;-)

Post by 0v3rz34l0u5 » Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:30 pm

I am an Intel fan boy so can't comment, however, I know the new Ryzen processors are really good. Intel have finally cottoned on and the next i5 processors are supposed to be the same as the current i7 processors.
We’re not the avatars we create. We’re not the pictures on the film stock. We are the light that shines through. All else is just smoke and mirrors. Distracting, but not truly compelling.
Image

User avatar
warlock359205
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:12 pm
Location: portsmouth uk

Re: The setup ;-)

Post by warlock359205 » Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:35 pm

0v3rz34l0u5 wrote:
Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:30 pm
I am an Intel fan boy so can't comment, however, I know the new Ryzen processors are really good. Intel have finally cottoned on and the next i5 processors are supposed to be the same as the current i7 processors.
and the same redicules price I expect, intel are good , but AMD are cheaper and just as good as intel
Image

eyzpick
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:56 pm
Location: Moretusburg, Antwerp, Belgium
Contact:
=EBS= eyzpick’s avatar
Loading…

Re: The setup ;-)

Post by eyzpick » Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:52 pm

Well, I'm not a team red or a team blue specific guy. Its a bit like BMW or Mercedes discusion :-o
But I'm looking meanly for the best performance/budget/future proof parts.
Hours of YouTube, looking in magazines, reading the hole www gave me these parts.
But never forget the true parts knowledge/experience of the EBS members ;-)

User avatar
Lythnic
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:56 pm
Location: Norway
=EBS= Lythnic’s avatar
Loading…

Re: The setup ;-)

Post by Lythnic » Sat Jan 11, 2020 12:09 pm

The 3600 is a fantastic cpu for the price. Is there any specific reason why you went with 32GB of ram? I like the case choice.
Principal of School of Git Guud

eyzpick
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:56 pm
Location: Moretusburg, Antwerp, Belgium
Contact:
=EBS= eyzpick’s avatar
Loading…

Re: The setup ;-)

Post by eyzpick » Sat Jan 11, 2020 2:43 pm

maybe a bit of video-editing or rendering
second job is assisting a commercial video/photographer

User avatar
Lythnic
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:56 pm
Location: Norway
=EBS= Lythnic’s avatar
Loading…

Re: The setup ;-)

Post by Lythnic » Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:30 pm

Ok then 32 is a good amount. Maybe you would want a big HDD alongside with that SSD you have listed as HDD, I would recommend a Seagate ironwolf 3.5" NAS HDD
Principal of School of Git Guud

eyzpick
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:56 pm
Location: Moretusburg, Antwerp, Belgium
Contact:
=EBS= eyzpick’s avatar
Loading…

Re: The setup ;-)

Post by eyzpick » Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:37 pm

Lythnic wrote:
Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:30 pm
Ok then 32 is a good amount. Maybe you would want a big HDD alongside with that SSD you have listed as HDD, I would recommend a Seagate ironwolf 3.5" NAS HDD
Was thinking of putting in a second m.2 if 1tb wasn't enough, after that I was thinking of adding ssd.
Mainly because of the speeds in comparison with the hdd.
I thought the 3.5" days where over?

Listed it indeed as hdd ;-) but you'll know what I mean ;-)

User avatar
Lythnic
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:56 pm
Location: Norway
=EBS= Lythnic’s avatar
Loading…

Re: The setup ;-)

Post by Lythnic » Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:16 pm

Well the thing with HDD nowadays is that you get a lot more storage for your money. But you might not need it depending on how big and many projects you are working on at the same time
Principal of School of Git Guud

eyzpick
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:56 pm
Location: Moretusburg, Antwerp, Belgium
Contact:
=EBS= eyzpick’s avatar
Loading…

Re: The setup ;-)

Post by eyzpick » Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:54 pm

Lythnic wrote:
Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:16 pm
Well the thing with HDD nowadays is that you get a lot more storage for your money. But you might not need it depending on how big and many projects you are working on at the same time
Oh in that way, well my system doesn't need that much storage, the big project with The Picture Element run a big fat nas.
It will be for the small projects like BTS.
And probably small stuf when the kids play with the gopro or my recordings from the bike.

Post Reply