Page 1 of 1

Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:38 pm
by Age.
Made an interesting discovery the other day. Turns out, you can run Dolby Atmos on headphones without needing any special headphones.

If you don't know what Dolby Atmos is, read about it here - http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/131069- ... o-i-get-it

Anyway, all you need is an app https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/store/p ... link&rtc=1

(see also - https://www.dolby.com/us/en/apps/access.html)

Then you can get Atmos running on BF1 (it's one of the only current games that supports it). It is a paid for app, but it's impressive.

I've got to review it properly for work, so watch this space (yes, that also means I'll be playing BF1 again (a bit)).

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:59 pm
by BillBailey
Nice find mate

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:10 pm
by Satan
Nice find Age im going to try it though reviews only 2 stars. Be interested to delve deeper like yourself and further understand how they work, i would have thought DTS-X would have been easier as it offers bit more flexibility. I assume this app will be simlulating the object based audio but be interesting to see how it sounds with both discrete and matrixed headsets and i would have thought the best experience would be with 7.1 discrete.

I know you went to see that multi channel atmos set up in London playing BF1, i must admit when i have used my mega long HDMI cable and plugged into my atmos amp iv'e enjoyed the overhead stuff from my ceiling speakers (7.1.2) but the audio does seem not on a par with say a blu ray of Hacksaw Ridge/13 hours but i'd loved to have experienced what you did :Drool:


I have got it installed and appear to have it working through the apps you can try however getting it to enable in BF1 is going to be a work in progress :Wall: I can get it working through my HDMI/GFX card audio to my atmos amp but not using this app and headset, please post here how you get on if anyone else susses it.

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/apps/index.html
https://www.dolby.com/us/en/apps/access/pc-xbox.html

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:53 pm
by 0v3rz34l0u5
I’m guessing using Atmos and my Razer Virtual surround would be a bad idea (although I’m not entirely convinced the virtual surround works).

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:28 pm
by Age.
It is virtual yes. Which is why you need the app and the game to have the capability. I'm not too sure how easy it'll be on PC. I bet it's much easier on Xbox.

I saw another Dolby cinema the other day. 34 speakers including underfloor subwoofers. Mighty impressive.

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:35 pm
by Stujb
I am, as you know, a technological noob especially compared to you Age. I've downloaded the app and followed the instructions, but can't activate Dolby Actos (DA) in the settings in Windows. There's no option in the drop down.
In saying that, I've searched for my headphones to see if they will support DA (Turtle Beach Z60) and can't find anything.

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:55 pm
by Satan
Age. wrote:
Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:28 pm
It is virtual yes. Which is why you need the app and the game to have the capability. I'm not too sure how easy it'll be on PC. I bet it's much easier on Xbox.

I saw another Dolby cinema the other day. 34 speakers including underfloor subwoofers. Mighty impressive.
nice fish, i think 34 speakers is atmos maxxed out but things change

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:02 pm
by 0v3rz34l0u5
34 speakers seems a little over kill to me. I’m hoping there’s at least one sub! :P