Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Image
We got some server lovin.
Post Reply
User avatar
Age.
Admiral Of The Fleet
Admiral Of The Fleet
Posts: 3752
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:10 am
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/age_uk
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/age_dub
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheProvokedPrawn/
Location: Essex
Contact:

Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Post by Age. » Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:38 pm

Made an interesting discovery the other day. Turns out, you can run Dolby Atmos on headphones without needing any special headphones.

If you don't know what Dolby Atmos is, read about it here - http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/131069- ... o-i-get-it

Anyway, all you need is an app https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/store/p ... link&rtc=1

(see also - https://www.dolby.com/us/en/apps/access.html)

Then you can get Atmos running on BF1 (it's one of the only current games that supports it). It is a paid for app, but it's impressive.

I've got to review it properly for work, so watch this space (yes, that also means I'll be playing BF1 again (a bit)).
HILARIOUS Youtube videos
Image
--->Donate to keep EBS alive<---
If you have problems, be sure to check the Guides Section for simple idiot-proof guides with screenshots 'n' all.

User avatar
BillBailey
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Posts: 3344
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:22 pm
Gender: Male
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bill.bailey.9212301
Location: Birmingham

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Post by BillBailey » Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:59 pm

Nice find mate

User avatar
Satan
Captain
Captain
Posts: 1022
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:12 pm
Gender: Male
Twitter: https://twitter.com/stevesmediasolu
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/srw1966
Location: From Leeds, live in Scarborough

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Post by Satan » Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:10 pm

Nice find Age im going to try it though reviews only 2 stars. Be interested to delve deeper like yourself and further understand how they work, i would have thought DTS-X would have been easier as it offers bit more flexibility. I assume this app will be simlulating the object based audio but be interesting to see how it sounds with both discrete and matrixed headsets and i would have thought the best experience would be with 7.1 discrete.

I know you went to see that multi channel atmos set up in London playing BF1, i must admit when i have used my mega long HDMI cable and plugged into my atmos amp iv'e enjoyed the overhead stuff from my ceiling speakers (7.1.2) but the audio does seem not on a par with say a blu ray of Hacksaw Ridge/13 hours but i'd loved to have experienced what you did :Drool:


I have got it installed and appear to have it working through the apps you can try however getting it to enable in BF1 is going to be a work in progress :Wall: I can get it working through my HDMI/GFX card audio to my atmos amp but not using this app and headset, please post here how you get on if anyone else susses it.

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/apps/index.html
https://www.dolby.com/us/en/apps/access/pc-xbox.html
Last edited by Satan on Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Dip me in honey and throw me to the lesbians!

User avatar
0v3rz34l0u5
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:35 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/0v3rz34l0u5
Location: Cambridgeshire

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Post by 0v3rz34l0u5 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:53 pm

I’m guessing using Atmos and my Razer Virtual surround would be a bad idea (although I’m not entirely convinced the virtual surround works).
Image

User avatar
Age.
Admiral Of The Fleet
Admiral Of The Fleet
Posts: 3752
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:10 am
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/age_uk
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/age_dub
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheProvokedPrawn/
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Post by Age. » Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:28 pm

It is virtual yes. Which is why you need the app and the game to have the capability. I'm not too sure how easy it'll be on PC. I bet it's much easier on Xbox.

I saw another Dolby cinema the other day. 34 speakers including underfloor subwoofers. Mighty impressive.
HILARIOUS Youtube videos
Image
--->Donate to keep EBS alive<---
If you have problems, be sure to check the Guides Section for simple idiot-proof guides with screenshots 'n' all.

User avatar
Stujb
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Posts: 2750
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:59 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/stujb
Location: Birmingham

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Post by Stujb » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:35 pm

I am, as you know, a technological noob especially compared to you Age. I've downloaded the app and followed the instructions, but can't activate Dolby Actos (DA) in the settings in Windows. There's no option in the drop down.
In saying that, I've searched for my headphones to see if they will support DA (Turtle Beach Z60) and can't find anything.
Image

User avatar
Satan
Captain
Captain
Posts: 1022
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:12 pm
Gender: Male
Twitter: https://twitter.com/stevesmediasolu
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/srw1966
Location: From Leeds, live in Scarborough

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Post by Satan » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:55 pm

Age. wrote:
Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:28 pm
It is virtual yes. Which is why you need the app and the game to have the capability. I'm not too sure how easy it'll be on PC. I bet it's much easier on Xbox.

I saw another Dolby cinema the other day. 34 speakers including underfloor subwoofers. Mighty impressive.
nice fish, i think 34 speakers is atmos maxxed out but things change
Image
Dip me in honey and throw me to the lesbians!

User avatar
0v3rz34l0u5
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:35 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/0v3rz34l0u5
Location: Cambridgeshire

Re: Dolby Atmos for headphones for BF1

Post by 0v3rz34l0u5 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:02 pm

34 speakers seems a little over kill to me. I’m hoping there’s at least one sub! :P
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest